Screening of Wednesday sep. 29

Gaumont Rennes –11:00 AM

WEDNESDAY SEP. 29

Séance animation

Length: 1 hr 06 min

Official Competition

This lineup contains content that may not be suitable for young viewers. Discretion advised.

VOSTF (Foreign films with subtitles)

 

UNMASKED BALL

Welcome to the highly-anticipated, 100% animation screening!

Make yourselves comfortable, and let the screen do the restlessness.

All masked out and nowhere to go, you will be able to awaken the bedlam and bad blood dormant in you. As you traverse mystical expanses dreamt up by the imagination, realities of both the copacetic and callous kind await you. Whether hand-drawn or pixelated, these story "lines" will be sending you to zèle and back.

Get your fill-o-films, festivalgoers. The demonted dance of Court Métrange has begun!

p.s. Please give the lady back her necklace.

Arnaud Pouchin - Film programmer

THE NIGHT WATCH

De Julien REGNARD
12’22 2021  France/Belgique

One posh evening in a manor house. On their way home, an argument leads to a brutal car accident. The car crashes into a pine tree. While Georges gradually regains consciousness, Christina has disappeared. Terrified, panicked and full of guilt, he returns to the mansion where the party is taking place to seek help, but the atmosphere turns even more into a nightmare when he sees his wife, alive and well, in the company of a man with a bird's head.

festivals@autourdeminuit.com

BLACK SHEEP BOY

James Molle, 14 min 57 min, 2020, France

The tribulations and adventures of a young man wearing a cap, moving through a strange world populated by anthropomorphic creatures. In search of happiness although he doesn't know where to find it, he embarks on a philosophical and personal quest.

molle@miyu.fr

AFFAIRS OF THE ART

Joanna Quinn, 16 min 25 sec, 2021, United Kingdom

Factory worker Beryl is totally obsessed with drawing, and her fixation dominates the entire household. Apart from her husband, Ivor, Beryl’s model and muse, the whole family is addicted to something – her son is a technical geek and her sister a fanatically-narcissistic taxidermist.

joanna.beryl@fut.net

NIGHT BUS

Joe Hsieh, 20 min 01 sec, 2020, China

On a late-night commuter bus, a necklace is stolen. A tragic and fatal road accident ensues, as well as intriguing turns of events that reveal love, hatred and vengeance. The film climaxes as the bus goes ablaze, burning and glittering against the dark coastal sky.

 joehsieh.animation@gmail.com

NO, I DON’T WANT TO DANCE

Andrea Vinciguerra, 2 min 39 sec, 2019, United Kingdom/Italy

In these dark times, you may think that every potential hazard has been identified, but no one has ever taken into consideration how dangerous dance can be...

festivals@autourdeminuit.com

Gaumont - Rennes9:30 PM

WEDNESDAY SEP. 29

Length: 1 hr 06 min

Official Competition

This lineup contains content that may not be suitable for young viewers. Discretion advised.

VOSTF (Foreign films with subtitles)

 

Mommy blues

At Court Métrange, we had an uncontrollable urge to nurture you with this screening smothered in TLC… But you’ve been warned: This won’t be a walk in the park! Your notion, up to now, of what you assumed to be "natural" for mothers will need to be grievously reconsidered after embarking on this visual and sensorial maiden voyage into the pangs of motherhood. The filmmakers have found this matrix-archal dimension quite amusing, bringing to life an array of alien anecdotes, including organic baby blues, a relatively bent take on breastfeeding the Breton way, a bloody maternal instinct, a mythical miscarriage and allegedly-wolfish twinship. After this trip, cutting the cord may just be easier than you thought!

 Émilie Cénac - Film programmer

LA NOURRICE

Arnold De Parscau, 15 min 53 sec, 2021, France

In 1900, Marie sells pancakes made with her breast milk at the market of a small village in Brittany. The recipe is all the rage, and all the villagers become addicted. One day, Marie runs out of milk, but the peasants still ask for more. They will put her through an ordeal to continue consuming this precious resource they consider inexhaustible.

arnolddeparscau@hotmail.fr

 

DARK WATER

Erin Coates, 15 min, 2019, Australia

Dark Water focuses on the narrative of a deep-sea environment that unexpectedly manifests in the walls of a grieving woman’s suburban dwelling; an impossible, flooded inner- architecture. It explores familial trauma through the darkly surreal tale of a woman who discovers an ocean within her house.

erin.coates@gmail.com

THE EXPECTED

Carolina Sandvik, 14 min 30 sec, 2021, Sweden

A father-to-be ends up in a feverish nightmare after a miscarriage, while a strange entity seems to be growing in the mother’s blood.

carolina_sandvik@hotmail.com

FERINE

Andrea Corsini, 17 min 01 sec, 2019, Italy

A woman wanders in a big and empty parking lot following a man whom she seems to want to ambush. From her gestures, something furious and menacing emerges. Everything seems to draw back to a wooded area beyond an abandoned home, a place that hides the true nature of her actions.

 me@andreacorsini.com

CHANGELING

Faye Jackson, 9 min 30 sec, 2019, United Kingdom

A new mother becomes increasingly mesmerized and appalled by the strange transformations happening around her baby. She instinctively hides them, unaware they are building towards a final metamorphosis - her own.

faye@touchpieceproductions.com

en_GBEnglish
Skip to content

Séances du Mercredi 29 septembre

Gaumont Rennes – 19H00

MERCREDI 29 SEPTEMBRE

Séance animation

Durée : 1h14

En compétition pour les prix du jury

Ce programme est susceptible de heurter la sensibilité des jeunes spectateurs.rices

VOSTF

 

Ô bal démasqué

Bienvenue à cette traditionnelle séance 100 % animation !

Installez-vous confortablement dans votre fauteuil et laissez l’écran s’agiter devant vos yeux.

Anonymes derrière vos masques, vous pourrez faire ressortir la folie et l’animosité qui sommeillent en vous. Confrontés à des mondes oniriques imaginaires, vous serez plongés dans des réalités tantôt poétiques, tantôt brutales. Sous des traits fins ou pixélisés, préparez-vous à en voir de toutes les ardeurs.

Enivrez-vous, festivaliers. La folle danse de Court Métrange est lancée !

PS : merci de bien vouloir rendre le collier à la dame.

Arnaud Pouchin – Programmateur

RONDE DE NUIT

De Julien REGNARD 12’22 2021  France/Belgique

Une soirée huppée dans un manoir. Sur le chemin du retour dans la voiture, une dispute provoque un brutal accident. Alors que Georges reprend peu à peu connaissance, Christina, elle, a disparu. Georges va vivre une véritable descente aux enfers et se retrouver face à ses propres démons…

festivals@autourdeminuit.com

BLACK SHEEP BOY

De James MOLLE
14’57 2020 France

Les tribulations et péripéties d’un jeune homme à casquette à travers un monde étrange et peuplé de créatures anthropomorphes. À la recherche du bonheur qu’il ne sait où trouver, il s’engage dans une quête philosophique et personnelle.

molle@miyu.fr

AFFAIRS OF THE ART

De Joanna QUINN,
16’25 2021 Royaume-Uni

Beryl, employée à l’usine, est obsédée par le dessin, et cette fixation prend toute la place chez elle. À l’exception de son mari, Ivor, qui est aussi son modèle, toute la famille verse dans l’obsession : son fils, Colin, est un geek féru de technologie, et sa sœur, Beverly, est une taxidermiste d’un narcissisme sans bornes.

joanna.beryl@fut.net

NIGHT BUS

De Joe HSIEH
20’01 2020 Chine

Un collier est volé dans un bus. Par la suite, un accident de la route tragique et fatal met en lumière l’amour, la haine et la vengeance. L’apothéose est atteinte lorsque le bus prend feu, les flammes étincelant sur le ciel sombre de la côte.

 joehsieh.animation@gmail.com

NO, I DON’T WANT TO DANCE

De Andrea VINCIGUERRA
02’39 2019 Royaume-Uni/Italie

En ces temps sombres, vous pouvez penser que chaque danger a été identifié, mais personne n’a jamais pris en compte le danger que peut représenter la danse…

festivals@autourdeminuit.com

Gaumont Rennes – 21H30

MERCREDI 29 SEPTEMBRE

Durée : 1h14

En compétition pour les prix du jury

Ce programme est susceptible de heurter la sensibilité des jeunes spectateurs.rices

VOSTF

 

Mommy blues

Chez Court Métrange nous avons eu envie de vous materner avec cette séance préparée avec tendresse… Mais nous vous prévenons, ça ne sera pas de tout repos ! Ce parcours initiatique visuel et sensoriel au cœur des affres de la maternité, va bousculer votre conception de ce qui est supposé « naturel » chez une mère. Les réalisateurs et réalisatrices se sont fait un plaisir de jouer avec cette dimension matricielle, faisant naître un éventail de scénarios métrangiens comme on les aime. Il est question de baby blues organique, d’allaitement breton bien spécial, d’instinct maternel sanglant, de fausse-couche onirique et de gémellité carnassière supposée. Pas sûr qu’après cela vous souhaitiez retourner dans les jupons de votre mère !

 Émilie Cénac – Programmatrice

LA NOURRICE

De Arnold DE PARSCAU
15’53 2021 France

En 1900, Marie vend sur le marché d’un petit village breton des crêpes au lait maternel. La recette fait fureur et tous les villageois deviennent accros. Un jour, Marie n’a plus de lait. Mais les paysans en réclament encore. Ils vont lui faire vivre un calvaire pour continuer à consommer.

arnolddeparscau@hotmail.fr

 

DARK WATER

De Erin COATES
15’00 2019 Australie

Dark Water raconte l’histoire d’un environnement sous-marin qui se manifeste de manière inattendue dans les murs de la maison de banlieue d’une femme en deuil. Le film explore le traumatisme familial à travers l’histoire surréaliste d’une femme qui découvre un océan dans sa maison.

erin.coates@gmail.com

THE EXPECTED

De Carolina SANDVIK
14’30 2021 Suède

Un futur père vit dans un cauchemar fiévreux après une fausse couche, alors qu’une étrange entité semble se développer dans le sang de la mère.

carolina_sandvik@hotmail.com

FERINE

De Andrea CORSINI
17’01 2019 Italie

Une femme erre dans de grands parkings vides en suivant un homme qu’elle semble vouloir piéger. Dans ses gestes se dégage quelque chose de furieux et de menaçant. Tout semble la guider vers un bois derrière une maison abandonnée, un lieu qui cache sa véritable nature.

 me@andreacorsini.com

CHANGELING

De Faye JACKSON
09’30 2019  Royaume-Uni

Une jeune mère tente de cacher les étranges pouvoirs naissants de son bébé adoré, ignorant qu’une fois que l’enfant les aura maîtrisés, la première chose qu’il fera sera de la transformer.

faye@touchpieceproductions.com

fr_FRFrench
Aller au contenu principal